March 17th, 2013 – Waterton Canyon

Due to some schedule conflicts recently I have not been able to do a good trail run with the Boulder Trail Running and Breakfast Club on Saturdays. I was itching, seriously itching for a good run! Luckily, Colorado Runs posted a new meet-up at Waterton Canyon for a 12-mi/24-mi/50-mi out and back run on a beautiful Sunday morning. I was indecisive. I picked out a 14-mi Boulder Trail early in the week but the weather turned stormy. Last time I tried to run after a storm, the trail was icy and muddy, it was almost a hike. Being too good at trail blazing and getting lost, I decided to join the group that is familiar with the trail instead.

Waterton Canyon was not far from town. It was a 40-min drive from Aurora located in Littleton. The trail consists of a dirt road with a river running next to it, a gradual incline (almost flat IMO) for 6.25 miles leading up to Stronita Dam. We ran a total out and back distance of 12.5 miles. The famous Colorado Trail (section 1) connects at the end of Waterton Canyon which I plan to explore in the future, but will have to plan on a 20+mi run one day.

First Reservoir

First Reservoir

South Platte River

South Platte River

Trees are turning green!

Trees are turning green!

Not as Pretty as Boulder :(

Not as Pretty as Boulder :(

Trail Map at the End

Trail Map at the End

Made it to the Dam

Made it to the Dam

OMG SHEEP

OMG SHEEP

Overall a good leisure run, wasn’t hard or a badass workout but a beautiful run on a trail I’ve never been. I sure want to extend into Colorado Trail next time I go! Ah, still itching for a good run…


4 Comments on “March 17th, 2013 – Waterton Canyon”

  1. kyleepuu says:

    That distance is badass btw. My favorite little adventurer! :) <3

  2. says:

    你每次山裡亂跑都不是一個人跑吧?和一堆人一起?


Leave a comment